Death Cab for Cutie is an American indie pop rock band formed in Bellingham, Washington in 1997. The band takes its name from a satirical song of the same name, written by Vivian Stanshall and performed by the Bonzo Dog Doo-Dah Band on their 1967 album Gorilla and in the Beatles' experimental movie, Magical Mystery Tour. Death Cab for Cutie began as a solo project of Ben Gibbard, now the band's vocalist and guitarist. The band's first album, You Can Play These Songs with Chords, was released as a demo, leading to a record deal with Barsuk Records. It was at this time that Gibbard decided to expand the project into a complete band, and recruited band members to join. The band has released eight albums to date. Their most recent album, Narrow Stairs, was released on May 12, 2008 in the United Kingdom and was released on May 13, 2008 in the United States.

Official website: http://www.deathcabforcutie.com/

Discography, 8 albums

Something About Airplanes - 1999
Forbidden Love - 2000
We Have The Facts And We're Voting Yes - 2000
The Photo Album - 2001
Stability - 2002
Transatlanticism - 2003
Plans - 2005
Narrow Stairs - 2008

Non-album songs